Category Archives: New releases

Republishing: The Scroll Thief

Book 2 in my republishing adventure, The Scroll Thief is almost ready to go and available for pre-order now.

One theft too many and their world will burn.

Malachy and his sister, Halia, have what it takes to survive the dangerous streets of Klathport, capital of the once-great kingdom of Ithian. From the moment he steals from Trask, everything goes to hell.

Trask follows the law, determined to serve the city. But the secrets he keeps and his turbulent past are about to catch up with him and the other side of prison bars could prove deadly.

Cerys plays the role of a simple travelling healer. Her mission was supposed to atone for a dreadful, long-ago act and she needs the two men to fulfil it. Instead, they unleash a chain of events which sees them hunted through city and surrounding desert by the guards, the council, a psychopathic murderer and a malevolent sorceress.

Romance, tragedy, and adventure combine in a magical land on the brink of war when past and present collide.

Pre-order here (Amazon.co.uk) & here (Amazon.com). You never know what surprises you might find…

Girl in Trouble

No, not me. Fortunately. Not this time, anyway. *checks* No everything appears to be ok. Just don’t move. Or blink. Or jinx anything.

My gorgeous, talented, hilarious, RNA Naughty Kitchen mate Rhoda Baxter has a new book out, Girl in Trouble, and you should all go out and buy it immediately. It popped up on my Kindle the other day and only being full on at Octocon stopped me from reading it right away. And now I have time. Mwhahahaha!

What’s it about? I’m glad you asked. Modern, smart, funny romance here we come.

Grown up tomboy Olivia doesn’t need a man to complete her. Judging by her absent father, men aren’t that reliable anyway. She’s got a successful career, good friends and can evict spiders from the bath herself, so she doesn’t need to settle down, thanks.

Walter’s ex is moving his daughter to America and Walter feels like he’s losing his family. When his friend-with-benefits, Olivia, discovers she’s pregnant by her douchebag ex, Walter sees the perfect chance to be part of a family with a woman he loves. But how can Walter persuade the most independent woman he’s ever met to accept his help, let alone his heart?

Girl In Trouble is the third book in the award nominated Smart Girls series by Rhoda Baxter. If you like charming heroes, alpha heroines and sparkling dialogue, you’ll love this series. Ideal for fans of Sarah Morgan, Lindsey Kelk or Meg Cabot’s Boy books. Buy now and meet your new favourite heroine today.

Rhoda’s books are always amazing. They’re smart, funny and have wonderful modern heroines. If you want to try some fresh new romance, here you go.

Why are you still reading this? Go and buy it! 😀 Now, where’s my tablet?

Book launch madness

launchpic2
Just wanted to say thanks to everyone who helped to celebrate the launch of A Darkness at the End the other night, both on the group and in a virtual space as well. It was a fantastic night and I couldn’t have asked for more.

Particular thanks to Sarah Rees Brennan who, despite threats, didn’t shame me at all 😉
ruthsarahlaunch
(Next time, Sarah, next time).

Bob has signed copies in the Gutter Bookshop, and so too do our friends as the National Leprechaun Museum. There will be more popping up in various bookshops as and when I get there (I’m on a mission).

Failing that I’ll be at Titancon at the end of the month, and at Octocon in October. Signing pen will be at the ready. All three books are available from all good bookshops, on and offline, now. Keep a lookout for the very rare, collector’s item that is the wings badge!

launchpic1

Die Chroniken der Fae: Auf Papier und Asche is out today!

*Ridiculously excited warning*

So, a long long time ago, when I was still in school I was in a German class supposedly learning German. And I had my German book out on the table in front of me and was for all appearances studying very hard.

Unfortunately, I was not actually doing that. I was writing a novel on a book perched on my knees under the desk.

Of course, I was caught, my lovely novel was confiscated and I had the mortifying experience of having to go to the staff room at the next break and ask for it back. It was the only copy. This is long before the days of computers and multiple backups. My German teacher told me it was very good. Which meant she’d read it.

Long_DieChronikenI wished for the ground to open up and swallow me whole. It didn’t. I never learned more than a few words of German. Enough, I hope, to be polite. And ask about sightseeing.

BUT

more fool me because today my novel A Crack in Everything comes out in German from CBT and I cannot read it!!! But it is called Die Chroniken der Fae: auf Papier und Asche (Chronicles of the Fae: from paper and ashes). I have been really lucky to work with the lovely Karen Gerwig as translator. And the cover is BEAUTIFUL! Once more the cover fairies have come through for me with flying colours and the artwork by the wonderful Isabelle Hirtz is stunning.

So, if you are lucky enough to be able to read German, or simply want to own a book with a magnificent cover featuring Izzy Gregory, here is Die Chroniken der Fae: auf Papier und Asche.

*pets*

~oOo~

Also a reminder that I will be in Hodges Figgis on Dawson Street on Thursday evening from 6pm for a YA panel with Claire Hennesy, Dave Rudden and Louise O’Neill. Come and join us!

#YAieDay and Octocon

So, #YAieDay is on Twitter tomorrow, a day when we celebrate all things YA in Ireland, and I’m going to be on from 1.10-1.50 swearing… sorry “talking” about swearing with Kim Hood and Sally Nicholls. Follow the #YAieDay hashtag on Twitter and the full (amazing) lineup and programme is here. Thanks to the marvellous Michelle Moloney King for putting this together.

And then, next week it’s Octocon. And the programme is now up online too. Another brilliant line up of people and lots of YA here.

So this is what I’ll be up to.

Busy busy busy…

  • Friday, October 9
    7pm
    Ireland as a location
    A. Tivoli/Yeats, 7pm – 8pm
  • Saturday, October 10
    1pm
    As the creator Intended?
    C. Gaiety, 1pm – 2pm
  • 3pm
    Historical Inaccuracies.
    B. Abbey, 3pm – 4pm
  • 7pm
    Late Night Panel: Sex In Fiction/Erotica
    B. Abbey, 7pm – 8pm
  • Sunday, October 11
    2pm
    A Fantasy of My Own
    A. Tivoli/Yeats, 2pm – 3pm
  • 3pm
    Irish Mythology And Its International Spread
    A. Tivoli/Yeats, 3pm – 4pm
  • 4pm
    Readings from our Authors featuring Planetfall by Emma Newman
    B. Abbey, 4pm – 5pm
  • 5pm
    Practical Magic: Perspectives of Pagans, Gamers, and Fantasy Authors
    B. Abbey, 5pm – 6pm

The whole programme can be found here. Come along and say hello! I will probably be the person rushing between panels but say hello anyway! 😀

Magical Places of Dubh Linn: The Dubh Linn Gardens & Chester Beatty Library

DubhLinnGarden

In the grounds of Dublin Castle, the Dubh Linn gardens sit on the site of the original black pool. They are decorated with intertwined brick pathways representing eels. The central lawn double jobs as a helicopter landing pad, while small gardens, such as the Garda Memorial Garden, occupy the corners. It is also the site of the Chester Beatty Library, one of my favorite places to visit in Dublin.

Magical Places of Dubh Linn: The Hellfire Club

Hellfire

Montpelier Hill looms large in the supernatural tales of Dublin and even larger in Dubh Linn. Standing on top of it is the Hellfire Club, once a hunting lodge built in 1725. Stones from the cairn beside it were used in the construction and that sort of thing never ends well. It was used by members of the Irish Hellfire Club for meetings and the stories of wild behaviour, gambling, drunkenness and deals with the devil soon followed. They abandoned it after a fire which was reputedly started by one of the members when a footman spilled his brandy. His solution? Setting the man on fire.

Strange occurances, ghostly reports and bad luck continue to be associated with the Hellfire Club.