Octocon is coming…

Very exciting times as the Octocon programme has gone live! Here’s my schedule for the weekend –

Octocon

Just to warn people – Sunday at 11.30 am I’m running a writing workshop. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Full details can be found on the Octocon website and clicking on the title of the panel (etc.) will give all the details and all the wonderful guests.

Can’t wait to see everyone.

The Queen’s Wing cover reveal

I’m so excited about this cover, revealed today by Bookouture. The book is now available for Kindle pre-order from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com , Kobo and iBooks, and will be released on 21st November.  For now, it’s at the low low price of less than a bag of crisps, folks. Pre-order. You know it makes sense.

Come on over to the Bookouture page on facebook or twitter (@Bookouture) and share the fun.

‘I was born to fly,’ I told my brothers. But it isn’t true. I was born to be a pawn in the great game of royal houses, married to someone – anyone – my family deems suitable. If I’m lucky, he’ll be my own age and bearable. If I’m very lucky, he’ll be someone who understands my need to fight, and to fly…

Bel, born to nobility, would do anything to spend her days alongside her brothers – soaring through the heavens in her beloved flyer. She’s faster than any of them, but she knows her days in the skies are numbered.

When a surprise attack on the palace lands Bel’s father on the throne, her life is forever changed. In order to secure her father’s empire, Bel must travel to a distant land to marry the recently widowed young ruler, Conleith.

But Bel’s new home is less than welcoming: compared to the refined ladies at court, Bel seems like a wild woman, and assassination attempts, treason and mystery threaten her at every turn. With a growing attraction to Con, her life is further complicated by the attentive leader of her bodyguards – a warrior called Shae whom she has loved since childhood…

A heart-stoppingly magical new novel that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of The Selection, Bella Forrest and Sarah J. Maas.

Wexworlds this weekend

Wexworlds is on this weekend and the wonderful Caroline Busher and I will be there bright and early on Sunday to talk about Folklore in Fiction.

I’m also going to be part of a panel introducing the Dublin 2019 Worldcon and encouraging everyone to get involved.

Wexworlds runs all weekend and the full programme is available online here.

I haven’t been doing as many events this year but I always look forward to this one. Come along and say hello.

Jessica Thorne & the notorious Space Opera

New year, as they say, new me!

I’m delighted to share the news I have been sitting on  (not terribly well if you’ve met me in person of late) for some time – Bookouture will be publishing the book known as “the notorious Space Opera which is not really a Space Opera, more of a fantasy with a large helping of Planetary Romance, go on ask me what that is…”, actually entitled The Queen’s Wing and have contracted the next book in the series as well.

I’ll be writing them as Jessica Thorne, which is a super Space Opera-y name if you ask me. I imagine her flicking her hair over her shoulder while walking away from explosions. Which she totally didn’t cause. Honestly.

The Queen’s Wing will be released in November with the sequel following hot on its heels in February 2019.

I’m really excited to be working with Kathryn and all the Bookouture team. All the details are up on the Bookouture blog here and I have a Jessica Thorne page for news etc as it happens, here on the website. There is also a twitter account to keep up to date – @JessThorneBooks

So, let’s get ready for an adventure!

 

Oops – lost in epic fantasy

The writing cave

It really has been a long time since I posted here. I have no excuse apart from falling into the writing cave and still not having found my way out. I’m working on a new epic fantasy that is just taking up all my time so far. Isn’t it amazing when a story just takes over. Unfortunately for me, while this one has taken over, it is doing so in slow motion. I have about a quarter of the length I’d like so far. Mind you, there’s often that thing where suddenly the story gets going and won’t stop!

The very odd thing with this one is the way it is coming out.

Not actual writing conditions…

I’ve talked about crazy writer brain before. This book has two points of view. Crazy writer brain has decided that one will only be typed directly into the manuscript while the other must be written out longhand before being typed in. So… that’s slowing things down too.

It’s also fun to be writing for fun though. And this is fun. It’s a rollercoaster of a story and I’m loving every minute of it.

There are other things in the works. But this one, so far, is just for me.

And that’s one of the really great things about writing. First and foremost, I write the book I want to read.

In the meantime here’s a belated Saint Brigid’s day picture from Brigid’s well in Kildare. I’m sure Brí would understand…

Republishing: The Scroll Thief

Book 2 in my republishing adventure, The Scroll Thief is almost ready to go and available for pre-order now.

One theft too many and their world will burn.

Malachy and his sister, Halia, have what it takes to survive the dangerous streets of Klathport, capital of the once-great kingdom of Ithian. From the moment he steals from Trask, everything goes to hell.

Trask follows the law, determined to serve the city. But the secrets he keeps and his turbulent past are about to catch up with him and the other side of prison bars could prove deadly.

Cerys plays the role of a simple travelling healer. Her mission was supposed to atone for a dreadful, long-ago act and she needs the two men to fulfil it. Instead, they unleash a chain of events which sees them hunted through city and surrounding desert by the guards, the council, a psychopathic murderer and a malevolent sorceress.

Romance, tragedy, and adventure combine in a magical land on the brink of war when past and present collide.

Pre-order here (Amazon.co.uk) & here (Amazon.com). You never know what surprises you might find…