Category Archives: New Books

New Book News! The Book of Gold is on the way

I’m so delighted to finally share this news because I’ve had to sit on it for a while. Anyone who has seen me talk about rare books knows it’s an absolute passion of mine, especially when I get onto the subject of the wonderful Plantin Bible and all the stories of the wild west that was early western printing.

Well, that went somewhere. 🙂

 

From Bookbrunch:

Hodderscape signs Ruth France Long’s ‘brilliant’ historical fantasy trilogy, which kicks off with The Book of Gold, set in an alternate-Renaissance fantasy world

Hodderscape has signed a historical fantasy trilogy from rare-books librarian Ruth Frances Long after Publishing Director Molly Powell acquired World English rights from Sallyanne Sweeney of MMB Creative. The first, The Book of Gold, will be published this November.

Long (pictured) said: “Inspired by the wild and dangerous world of early western printing, my love of rare books, and a city at the turning point of modernity, all of which had been simmering away in the back of my brain for so long, writing The Book of Gold has felt like my own quest, alongside characters who are forever part of me, and I am delighted this book of my heart has found its home with Hodderscape.”

Powell said: “Trapped gods, found family, a magical book, a second-chance romance, and a royal heist for the ages – what isn’t to love? I’m so excited to be bringing Ruth’s brilliant historical fantasy trilogy to Hodderscape.”

Sweeney said: “The Book of Gold is the series Ruth was born to write. I’m thrilled to have the perfect publishing home for it in Hodderscape and can’t wait for readers to discover Amberes.”

According to the acquisition statement: ‘The Book of Gold is a part-historical, part-fantastical heist novel set in an alternate-Renaissance fantasy world and inspired by the early days of printing in Europe. When thief Lyta’s brother is arrested for sedition, she strikes a bargain with the king to steal the Book of Gold, a manuscript reputed to hold vast magical power, from his rival.

‘Ruth Frances Long writes young adult romance and fantasy from the heart which often strays into weird and wonderful liminal places. She works in a specialised library of rare books. In 2015, she won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy for A Crack in Everything.

‘As Jessica Thorne, she also writes adult fantasy which wanders from space opera to time travel to epic fantasy, including The Water Witch, The Bookbinder’s Daughter, The Stone’s Heart and more. The Stone’s Heart was nominated for the RNA Romantic Fantasy novel of the year in 2020.’
 

New Book News

The news is out. I will have a new book with Bookouture next year, The Water Witch.

Here I am researching… honest…

We are also delighted to have re-signed contracts with fantasy author Jessica Thorne. Associate Publisher Ellen Gleeson has acquired World English Language rights, plus audio, from Sallyanne Sweeney at MMB Creative for The Water Witch

Publishing in summer 2022, The Water Witch is set on the wild shores of Brittany and tells the story of how Ariadne, a young woman still grieving for her lost fiancé, becomes involved in an archaeological dig searching for the lost city of Ys — and awakes an ancient and dangerous power.

Jessica said,

‘I’m so delighted to be working with Bookouture on this wild and magical tale of Brittany, a place so very close to my heart. It’s always such a thrill to start a new adventure and to explore the mysteries of family dynamics, folklore handed down through generations and the human heart.’

Ellen said,

‘Jessica’s books are always guaranteed to sweep me away to whatever beautiful, beguiling and entrancing world is waiting! Her gorgeous descriptions and worldbuilding, intricate plotting, ability to create totally dramatic heart-in-mouth moments, and of course passionate romance arcs, all combine to create exactly the kind of contemporary fantasy fiction her fans adore. It’s a pleasure and a privilege to work with Jessica and I can’t wait to dive straight in to The Water Witch.’ 

Full details here

Netgalley: The Bookbinder’s Daughter

Netgalley Reviewers – delighted to tell you that my new Jessica Thorne book, The Bookbinder’s Daughter, is up on Netgalley today. Click here to request a copy for review.

A magical library. A broken family. A dangerous secret.

It also features a magic if slightly demonic cat called Titivillus and is inspired by all things #Libraryland. Come and explore the enchanted world of the #AyredaleSpecialCollection

The Bookbinder’s Daughter will be released on the 20th September.

 

Out Today: The Lost Girls of Foxfield Hall

The Lost Girls of Foxfield Hall is out in the wild today and I am so delighted to see it finally published. This is very much the little book that could, one of those ones that at one point seemed destined to live in a drawer and never see the light of day. Originally conceived of as a YA book, it arrived at the wrong time for that particular market and it was only later, when discussing books wiht my wonderful agent and editor that I realised it would work so much better as an adult book. It required a total re-write of course, but we were locked down like the rest of the world. What else was I going to do?

Inspired by books of my childhood like Tom’s Midnight Garden and the Children of Green Knowe, with hints of Alan Garner, Susan Cooper and Diana Wynne Jones, this new adult version of Foxfield created two romances — Ellie and David in 1939, childhood sweethearts separated by war, unable to know if they would have a future at all, and in 2019 Megan and Nora, who seemed destined to be together. Not my first f/f couple but the most determined to be together.

It also meant I got to use my gorgeously creepy corn dollies as inspiration. Rural fantasy and horror drawing on folklore and ancient beliefs has always fascinated me. I wound it with a lifelong obsession with Arthurian legends because, why not? So Foxfield is a sum of many passions. I really hope you enjoy it.

 

OUT TODAY

Amazon UKKoboGoogleplayApple Books

 

Cover Reveal – The Lost Girls of Foxfield Hall

In my usual, over excited way – It’s cover reaveal day!

I have to write a little note about this one because it is very much a book of the heart, and proof positive that writers should never give up on a book. This is the little book that could. I originally wrote a version of this as a YA, but now it’s all grown up. We couldn’t find a home for it when I first wrote it, but with a rewrite and some Bookouture magic, it has taken on a whole new life.

Coming on 26th March, The Lost Girls of Foxfield Hall by Jessica Thorne and available for Pre-Order now…

September, 1939. The moon shines silver on the looming yew trees. Thinking of her fiancé, fighting for his life and country in the war, breaks Eleanor’s heart, but also gives her courage. She takes a deep breath, picks up her camera, and follows the dancing lights into the maze.

Present day. With her little brother Missing in Action, gardener Megan Taylor runs from her grief to take a job at Foxfield Hall – a centuries-old place full of myths and folklore – restoring the wild maze in the overgrown gardens. Throwing herself into shaping the tangled ivy, Megan soon becomes drawn into the mystery of Lady Eleanor Fairfax, the Hall’s most famous resident… the villagers say she disappeared without trace at the Harvest Festival in 1939, leaving behind a grieving father and a heartbroken fiancé.

Leafing through delicate old newspaper cuttings and gazing at an ornately framed portrait of the missing woman, Megan is full of questions. Although no body was ever found, could Eleanor have been murdered? Did she run away, unwilling to marry the man who loved her? Or, with her father working at the War Office, did Eleanor stumble upon a secret she shouldn’t have?

Then, one night under a full moon, a mesmerising light inexplicably draws her to the entrance of the maze. Megan is filled with a strange certainty that, if she follows it into the shadows, it will lead to the truth about Eleanor… but could Megan herself be the next occupant of Foxfield Hall to be lost forever?

A spellbinding, magical and addictive tale about the mysterious and ancient legends at the heart of the English countryside, and how to find those who are lost. Perfect for fans of Outlander, Susanna Kearsley and The Binding.

Amazon / Apple / Kobo/ Google

New Books on the way

Exciting news as I have signed a new contract with Bookouture for a further two books. Both of these will be standalones and I’m really looking forward to sharing them with you.

The first book is out in March next year, with the second to follow in September.

They are both a little different and both stories that I have wanted to write for ages. Real books of the heart. Also the first, which I refer to as Foxfield, is a cautionary tale on never giving up on a book you love. I wrote a version of it a few years ago but the market was not there for it at the time. It was a young adult book, on the younger end of the age range. When I spoke to my lovely editor Ellen about it she saw the possibilities and the rewrite is underway as we speak, no longer young adult and with a darker, more adult tone.

It always pays to remember in publishing it only takes one yes, and some books take just that little bit longer, and perhaps a few adjustments, to find its place.

I’m so happy to be able to say that Foxfield is going to finally make its way out into the world in a new and even more exciting form.

Bookouture re-sign Thorne and Josselsohn