Mansion of Madness on Comixology and The Queen’s Wing in print

Mansion of Madness

Just in time for Halloween, pick up a copy of the new horror comic book anthology, Mansion Of Madness, which is edited by Lee Robson and Dan Hill. It includes my comics debut, Black Dogs, where aliens and folklore collide with incredible artwork by Bryan Coyle.

Find out more below, but also to add, the print edition of The Queen’s Wing by Jessica Thorne, is now available for pre-order (Amazon.co.uk, Book Depository).

MALLET PRODUCTIONS RETURNS FROM THE GRAVE!

The classic British studio has been resurrected under new ownership and releases a one-off special of their classic horror comic Mansion of Madness

United Kingdom, 2018: After almost forty years, the classic British studio Mallet Productions is back, with new owners and a brand new edition of the classic horror anthology Mansion of Madness, featuring the stories from some of the best and brightest creators in the comics world today.

A 48 page digital only collection, Mansion of Madness contains six brand new spine-tingling tales of terror, guaranteed to leave you sleeping with the lights on.

Here’s the entire ToC:

GhostWriter

Writer: Andi Ewington
Artist: Maan House
Letterer: Bolt-01

Black Dog

Writer: Ruth Frances Long
Artist: Bryan Cole
Letterer: Bolt-01

Traffic Stop

Writer: Dan Hill
Artist: Alfie Gallagher
Letterer: Bolt-01

Words Are Not Real

Writer: Maura McHugh
Artist: Alex Patterson
Letterer: Bolt-01

The Whispers of The Stones

Writer: Jasper Bark
Artist: Paul Moore
Letterer: Bolt-01

A Nest Of Plaques And Tangles

Writer: Clay McLeod Chapman
Artist: Adam Kindred
Letterer: Bolt-01

Front cover: Mattthew John Soffe
Rear Cover: Andi Ewington

Behind The Curtain feature written by Colin Smith (illustrations Provided by the estate of “Carlo Ferigno”)

MoM design and logo by Bryan Coyle
Mallet Productions logo by Andi Ewington

Octocon is coming…

Very exciting times as the Octocon programme has gone live! Here’s my schedule for the weekend –

Octocon

Just to warn people – Sunday at 11.30 am I’m running a writing workshop. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Full details can be found on the Octocon website and clicking on the title of the panel (etc.) will give all the details and all the wonderful guests.

Can’t wait to see everyone.

The Queen’s Wing cover reveal

I’m so excited about this cover, revealed today by Bookouture. The book is now available for Kindle pre-order from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com , Kobo and iBooks, and will be released on 21st November.  For now, it’s at the low low price of less than a bag of crisps, folks. Pre-order. You know it makes sense.

Come on over to the Bookouture page on facebook or twitter (@Bookouture) and share the fun.

‘I was born to fly,’ I told my brothers. But it isn’t true. I was born to be a pawn in the great game of royal houses, married to someone – anyone – my family deems suitable. If I’m lucky, he’ll be my own age and bearable. If I’m very lucky, he’ll be someone who understands my need to fight, and to fly…

Bel, born to nobility, would do anything to spend her days alongside her brothers – soaring through the heavens in her beloved flyer. She’s faster than any of them, but she knows her days in the skies are numbered.

When a surprise attack on the palace lands Bel’s father on the throne, her life is forever changed. In order to secure her father’s empire, Bel must travel to a distant land to marry the recently widowed young ruler, Conleith.

But Bel’s new home is less than welcoming: compared to the refined ladies at court, Bel seems like a wild woman, and assassination attempts, treason and mystery threaten her at every turn. With a growing attraction to Con, her life is further complicated by the attentive leader of her bodyguards – a warrior called Shae whom she has loved since childhood…

A heart-stoppingly magical new novel that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of The Selection, Bella Forrest and Sarah J. Maas.

Wexworlds this weekend

Wexworlds is on this weekend and the wonderful Caroline Busher and I will be there bright and early on Sunday to talk about Folklore in Fiction.

I’m also going to be part of a panel introducing the Dublin 2019 Worldcon and encouraging everyone to get involved.

Wexworlds runs all weekend and the full programme is available online here.

I haven’t been doing as many events this year but I always look forward to this one. Come along and say hello.

Jessica Thorne & the notorious Space Opera

New year, as they say, new me!

I’m delighted to share the news I have been sitting on  (not terribly well if you’ve met me in person of late) for some time – Bookouture will be publishing the book known as “the notorious Space Opera which is not really a Space Opera, more of a fantasy with a large helping of Planetary Romance, go on ask me what that is…”, actually entitled The Queen’s Wing and have contracted the next book in the series as well.

I’ll be writing them as Jessica Thorne, which is a super Space Opera-y name if you ask me. I imagine her flicking her hair over her shoulder while walking away from explosions. Which she totally didn’t cause. Honestly.

The Queen’s Wing will be released in November with the sequel following hot on its heels in February 2019.

I’m really excited to be working with Kathryn and all the Bookouture team. All the details are up on the Bookouture blog here and I have a Jessica Thorne page for news etc as it happens, here on the website. There is also a twitter account to keep up to date – @JessThorneBooks

So, let’s get ready for an adventure!

 

Oops – lost in epic fantasy

The writing cave

It really has been a long time since I posted here. I have no excuse apart from falling into the writing cave and still not having found my way out. I’m working on a new epic fantasy that is just taking up all my time so far. Isn’t it amazing when a story just takes over. Unfortunately for me, while this one has taken over, it is doing so in slow motion. I have about a quarter of the length I’d like so far. Mind you, there’s often that thing where suddenly the story gets going and won’t stop!

The very odd thing with this one is the way it is coming out.

Not actual writing conditions…

I’ve talked about crazy writer brain before. This book has two points of view. Crazy writer brain has decided that one will only be typed directly into the manuscript while the other must be written out longhand before being typed in. So… that’s slowing things down too.

It’s also fun to be writing for fun though. And this is fun. It’s a rollercoaster of a story and I’m loving every minute of it.

There are other things in the works. But this one, so far, is just for me.

And that’s one of the really great things about writing. First and foremost, I write the book I want to read.

In the meantime here’s a belated Saint Brigid’s day picture from Brigid’s well in Kildare. I’m sure Brí would understand…